12 Hour Vehicle Impound On DUI Arrests
Starting in July of 2011, anyone who is arrested on suspicion of DUI or Physical Control in Washington will have their vehicle impounded for 12 hours.
The law, known as Hailey’s Law, is the latest to make things harder on those arrested on suspicion for DUI. If the driver is the only registered owner of the vehicle, the car must be towed and cannot be redeemed for 12 hours.
If there is another registered owner, they may redeem the vehicle from the tow company as soon as it reaches the impound lot. In this case, “redeem” means that the person must pay the tow company for the tow and impound before they can get their car back.
You can read the law on the Washington State Legislature’s website here.